books · Review

Comfort Foods of the Book World

Go to books. Books you’ve read so much the pages are wearing down and the ink is fading. Books you can always rely on to make you feel exactly what you want to feel. I’m pretty sure all bookworms have these books.

 

  1. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. This book is magical. It’s supposed to be about this epic contest between the students of two rival magicians but that was almost completely irrelevant to me. It wasn’t really the plot itself that I enjoyed, but the whole vibe and atmosphere of the book. I finished it and instantly wanted to read it again. I never want to leave that world, that circus! This book is so beautiful and wonderful that you can’t help but want to live in it. You want to know every in and out of the circus, every tent, every corner. The circus draws you in. The descriptions make you feel like you’re really there, experiencing it for yourself. I love this book. I love this world.
  2. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. This is one of the most important books you could ever read. It flows wonderfully, it’s powerful, it’s compassionate, it’s funny, and it’s a lesson. Lessons within lessons. Everytime I’ve read this I’ve learned something new. This has definitely had an impact on the person I am today. When you’re re-reading this, it feels like coming home. And the fact that these profound and moral lessons are given to us with such childlike innocence (thanks to the voice of Scout) helps to see the bigger picture, and the situations at hand with less bias than someone who’s experienced more of the world. I love this book and I don’t know anyone who doesn’t.
  3. Prozac Nation by Elizabeth Wurtzel. This really resonated with me. Whilst I was really badly struggling with mental health issues I found a LOT of this book to be relatable. It’s comforting in a way to know that you’re not alone in the way you’re feeling, especially when you’re at a point in your life when you do feel totally alone. The main character is more real and raw than most main characters which is really refreshing. To me, this is a relatable book, and also helpful for people not suffering with mental health issues to have an insight into what it’s like.
  4. Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire. Yes, it’s incredibly predictable. Yes, it’s cheesy. Yes, it’s a ridiculous cliche. Yes, I love it. I don’t know why! I almost hate myself for loving this book and these characters so much. And although it is predictable, cheesy and cliched, there’s something intriguing (and kind of loveable) about these characters and the situations they find themselves in. I think the relationship is pretty toxic at times, which isn’t ok and I know a lot of people would hate this book but hey, you can’t help what you love.
  5. Notes From The Teenage Underground by Simmone Howell. I first read this when I was 15, had no idea who I was and definitely didn’t fit in. I just thought this book was SO cool. I love the references to movies, books, art and pop culture. I related (and still do) to Gem’s struggle when it comes to what she wants to do with her life. This book made me want to read more, watch more movies, go out and explore more, create more, meet more people, and live the life I want. I’ve always been drawn in by the whole “underground” culture and I’ve always been ridiculously obsessed with Andy Warhol, so I really enjoy how those things are so present within the book. This is just really, really cool.

 

These are just 5 of many books I’ve read multiple times (not to mention Harry Potter and The Hunger Games, but did I really need to say that?). Others I’ve re-read are for the same kinds of reasons as the ones mentioned above. These books are my comfort foods of the book world. You know, things you love that aren’t necessarily good for you, something that other people may find weird but something you always go back to again and again. I tend to turn to these if I’m feeling worse than usual or generally unmotivated to read something new. They’re familiar and easy. But I also have an addiction to these books and need my regular fix of them, no matter what!

 

And as well as favourites that we can read over and over and over and never get bored of, we have favourites that we could never read again, in fear of losing the original awe and love you have of the book. For me, this is a whole genre.

 

Suspense-thriller books. I CANNOT put these down once I start reading one. It’s possibly my favourite genre. I love the suspense and the urgency but I only love it the first time around. I tried re-reading a book that fell into this category and it just wasn’t the same at all (as I’m sure you can imagine). I can’t feel the same level of suspense and curiosity when rereading a suspense-thriller book. Even if I love everything about this book, the characters or the world it’s set in, I can’t read it again.

 

Leave a Reply

