Blog · minimal living

Decluttering and Living Minimally

I’ve always had a lot of stuff. Clothes, makeup, jewellery, books (so many books……) and just general STUFF. So when I came across some pins on Pinterest about minimal living I pretty much just ignored it, convincing myself I DO need everything I have and I DON’T have too much at all! But then I tried to find something in my room and it pretty much took turning my whole room upside down for me to find it. That’s when I realised I had a problem and living minimally (or as minimally as possible) definitely seemed like a good idea.

First thing first, clothes. We all do that thing where we have something that doesn’t fit or suit us but we keep it anyway because ONE DAY it’s going to fit or we’ll have the perfect occasion to wear it for. Yeah. I think about 1/3 of my wardrobe was those items. They went first! I sold some, gave some to charity shops and binned the rest. That alone made a huuuuge difference and somehow I felt lighter and my mind was less cluttered. Then I just got rid of the other items I don’t wear as much or don’t fit me anymore and I was done!

Clearing out make up and other beauty products was easy enough. I’ve been travelling pretty much all year non stop so I have my makeup and skincare routine down to a T. I kept some other things I like to use for going out or when I just want to play around with makeup and then.. bye bye to the rest! My beauty products were spread across 2 sets of shelves, a huge makeup case, multiple boxes and a bag or 2 here and there. I managed to reduce it to 2 shelves and my makeup case.

Then the books. These were the hardest things for me to get rid of. I tend to read a book and fall deeply in love with everything about it so parting with them was hard. But I did it. I almost halved my book collection (down from 700ish to 400ish) and I’ve rearranged my bookcases to look clean and organised rather than messy and bursting at the seams. I now have a manageable book collection filled with my favourites which is MUCH better than clinging onto every book I’ve ever read and enjoyed.

These were the biggest hurdles I had to jump over and after that it was just general clutter I’d accumulated over the years which didn’t take long to organise. Doing this has cleared my mind up so much and helped me to concentrate on the things that actually matter in life (hint: it isn’t STUFF). Having a manageable amount of clothes, books, beauty products and other bits and bobs means I know what I have and I don’t get overwhelmed; plus my room stays tidier WAY longer. I still want to cut down on the amount of stuff I have to live my life as minimally as possible but I think I’ve made a good start and I’d suggest this lifestyle to anyone.

4 thoughts on “Decluttering and Living Minimally

  1. Wow, I’m so excited for you! minimalism is one of the most refreshing life changes I have ever made and you have the perfect attitude to start this fun journey!! It’s wonderful and eye-opening and makes you a better person. Loved reading this and can’t wait to read more! Always remember: stuff is just stuff, πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

