Blog · family

Parental Guidance

I’ve always appreciated how much my parents do for me but it hasn’t been until now that I’ve truly realised just how much they’ve done. Sure, I mean this in the sense of cleaning the house, helping me with day to day things, organisation and whatnot; but more importantly I mean the life lessons they’ve taught me and the morals they’ve brought me up with.

I know that without my parents support throughout my life I’d never be able to do something like this. They truly gave me my wings and taught me to fly (not literally though, they hate going on aeroplanes so I had to do that myself..) and for that I’ll always be thankful. My love for living and my desire to explore and learn is down to them. I’ve listened to their stories and it’s made me want to listen to the stories of so many others and have my own stories like theirs to tell. Because of them I want to make the most out of my life and make it count.

More than this I really see just how lucky I am and how amazing my parents are when I’m with the children. I see it in how I react when the children do something they shouldn’t. I see it in how I help the children when they’re upset. I see it in how I make the children laugh and smile. I see their kindness, patience, understanding, humour and everything else they brought me up with in me and it’s a constant reminder of how lucky I am to have such wonderful parents.

The fact that I can see so much of them in myself, my words and my actions is such a comforting feeling. It makes me feel a little bit closer to them when I’m sat in bed at night in a different house and a different country. I know I’ll always carry with me the lessons they’ve taught me and to me that’s the best feeling. It means they’ll always be with me in some way, helping me and guiding me through the bad times and still sharing the good times with me and helping me to appreciate them that little bit more.

I am the person I am because of my parents. I’m far from perfect but I have so many good qualities and I have them to thank for them all. Thank you and I love you more than I could ever put into words

One thought on “Parental Guidance

Leave a Reply

