Blog · travel

New Year, New Beginnings

From day 1 I knew 2015 was going to be different to any other year. Within 3 days of it turning 2015 I had quit my job, accepted a new one and moved to Italy to live with a family I’d never met before. At the end of 2014 I decided it was time for me to get up and put myself out there. It was time for me to start living my life exactly how I wanted to. And that’s what I did.

If you’d have told the old me that at age 19 I’d be living in Italy without my friends or family, I wouldn’t have believed you. I never thought I would be capable of something like this! Back then I had people around me who were bad for my mental health. They pulled me down, made me feel like I couldn’t achieve much and had a negative outlook on life that affected my positivity. 2014 was a year for personal reflection and growth. I cut out the people who made me unhappy, made choices for myself, changed my mindset and thought about what I wanted to do and how to do it. I didn’t look into becoming an au pair until December but this was the right time.

I don’t know if this is common but I found my host family within 20 days and after the first Skype call we all knew this was the right match. 5 days after this call I had booked my flights, left home and gone to live with them. It would be my first time living away from home, let alone living with a new family in a new country. Sure, I was nervous but the excitement of finally starting my life helped me to overcome that.

The place I’ve moved to is a beautiful town called Bergamo. There’s so much to see and do here and I can’t get enough of going to the top of the Torre Civica and looking out over the whole town, all the way to Milan! It’s the perfect place for my first time living away from home. The town isn’t too big but there’s still plenty for me to do so I won’t get bored and will constantly be experiencing new things and gathering new experiences.

After being here for 1 month I can definitely say that this is the best decision I’ve ever made. I feel as though I’ve already learnt and grown so much in such a short space of time. I’m still adjusting. There’s been ups and downs of course, but I’m proud of how well I’ve coped and I haven’t faced anything I haven’t been able to overcome. Of course, the support from my family, friends and host family has been constant and I’m so grateful for all of these wonderful people in my life. I love them endlessly and I know they’re always there for me no matter how big the distance between us is.

This is only just beginning but I’ve already experienced so much and I’m learning more and more each day about what I’m capable of. In my opinion it takes a lot of guts to leave your job, family and friends to start a new life, especially when you don’t know exactly what to expect! I love that I don’t know where in the world I’ll go next. All I know is that I wouldn’t change this for the world and I definitely wouldn’t go back to my old life.

The sky is the limit and there’s nothing holding me down.

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Beginnings

Leave a Reply

